Maybe we’re all just carbon copies

Telecaster and book

Three or so years ago, my boyfriend (at the time) gave me his favorite book as a gift, The Catcher in the Rye.  After breaking up and dating other people, I finally got to reading the book… and I couldn’t put it down.  Honestly, I didn’t want the story to end.  It was a fun, quick and mindless read that made me muffle my laughs while reading in public.

Here’s the strange thing though… I couldn’t shake the image of my ex boyfriend.  There’s this uncanny resemblance between he and J.D. Salinger’s main character, Holden Caulfield-the poster child of teenage angst.

“That is crazy” exclaimed my best friend, “but it kinda makes sense” she continued.  “I think the things that are important to us, we emulate and manifest into our own lives…” she reflected on my observation.

And it made me wonder, what or who do I emulate? Have you ever thought about that before?  Can you answer that question, like, this second?  ‘Cause I can’t.

This really bothers me more than it should, I’m sure, but I can’t help it.  More and more people ask me who my favorite guitarist is and it’s really difficult to answer because I never listen to a band just because they have a killer guitarist.  I simply like the overall sound.  Should I, though? 

Maybe the epitome of the guitarist I want to be is just tucked away in my subconscious mind.  Yeah… that. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it (for now).

5 thoughts on “Maybe we’re all just carbon copies

  1. I’ve always been drawn to the music first, then I appreciate the talented musicians behind it. At first I would only look at the Drummers, because in my youth, that’s what I played, but I would always appreciate a good Guitarist. Now I play guitar, so I admire the guitarists who play the music I like. I think its important for me, because it gives me an aspiration and I can also she how they progressed in their careers, their style, sound and influences, which in turn has an influence on my choices in learning. 🙂

  2. My favorite guitarist is Prince. Though I think he’s more my favorite musician. I was following his music in the purple rain days, not because of his guitar abilities , but it was the keyboard from “when doves cry” that turned me on my head. Later on, as I continued to follow his music, his guitar prowess started to grab my attention. Live versions of “purple rain” and then later on a MTV special of him playing “sign of the times and “play in the sunshine” headed me to the music shop to grab my first proper guitar.

    Dave Gilmore from pink Floyd was another motivator for me, but this time it wasn’t the skill behind the playing it was the sound that used to drive me made with excitement.

    I used to go watch 100’s of bands during my 20’s and I always focused on the guitarist and what they were doing. Sound wise, they all sounded roughly the same Everything does at those volume levels and when you are tanked full of grog. But my point was, I was always comparing what an average successful Australian pub band guitarist was capable of, to get himself to that point and were I was at, as a garage band guitarist.

    Still today, my backlog of influential guitar players remain the same. Prince will always be my first influence as a guitarist, Dave Gilmore from Pink Floyd as far as a guitar sound goes is also there, My list of Aussie rock band guitarist are apart of my guitar makeup, still motivating me today. And anyone I hear out on the street busking, also has there influence on me, right down to someone for the first time picking up a guitar for the first time and wanting to learn gives me an element of excitement, [especially as I am doing videos for beginners guitar lessons. That area has become relevant for me now. It’s like I’ve been able to go back to my own beginnings and guide new guitar players through there early days and as a guitarist, that is as exciting as buying my own first guitar.]

    I think you reach a point when you aren’t captured the same way as when your attention is grabbed for the first time. I think maybe the answer to the question could be, “for me anyway”, is not “who is your favorite guitarist?” but maybe, who influenced you first? It’s easier to get an answer to that question, than struggling with, who’s your favorite guitarist.

    Maybe our true favorite guitarist could be ourselves, because we spend more time focused on our own playing than we do collectively on any one else. But that is not meant to sound egotistical, because it’s not. It’s just a throw out there line, just to put a different spin on things. Anyway my time’s up. have a good day. darryl

    • Wow, you made some really great points.

      [especially as I am doing videos for beginners guitar lessons. That area has become relevant for me now. It’s like I’ve been able to go back to my own beginnings and guide new guitar players through there early days and as a guitarist, that is as exciting as buying my own first guitar.]

      I think that’s great! I always wondered what keeps teachers passionate and gung-ho about teaching.

      I’ve never really been influenced by anyone to play guitar. Actually, I was completely content as a drummer until someone suggested it to me. He said, “you write all the time, why don’t you learn guitar so you can make your own songs?” I let it marinate and then figured, “why not give it a shot?” I’m sure I’ll eventually have a favorite musician the more I play and try out various genres when practicing. I have a feeling it’ll be someone from the classic rock genre, as well.

  3. Pingback: Tipsy Tuesday: Feeling uninspired? Refine your environment |

Leave a Reply

