Farewell, east coast!

I’m heading back to California tomorrow and I must admit, it’s bittersweet.

“Now, call me and let me know how you’re doing, okay?”  Danny requested as I walked out of the studio.
“I will,” I answered.
“You don’t mind, do ya?”
“Of course not.  That’s always the plan.”

Yesterday concluded my last lesson with Danny.   We played a few cover songs, reviewed 6th string barre chords then discussed 5th string barre chords.  Due to my renewed focus, it was the strongest lesson in the 2 months I’ve been here.

According to society’s standards, I have overly large hands and not to mention, feet.  Throughout grade school, I did every thing I could to hide or reduce the appearance of them.  But now, I finally appreciate my daddy-long-leg fingers as I advance in guitar. Thanks to them, learning the new barre chords were a breeze (after understanding the theory behind ’em, of course). It just goes to show how being a clone of everyone else has no benefit or value. So I’ll continue to stomp around in my size 10 Doc Martens boots and be thankful for the genes my father clearly passed along to me.

One thought on “Farewell, east coast!

  1. Barre chords! I’ve been playing them for a couple of years now, and they’re OK when I’m strumming but when I fingerpick I always find one that “thunks.” I have long fingers too but they’re skinny and it’s hard to make contact with all the strings. An instructor advised pulling the guitar toward you with the fretting hand while stabilizing with the right. Gonna try that. Couldn’t do it at all without a strap. P.S. My coach, who inspired me and made me believe it’s not to late to go for it, moved away last fall and I’m still not over it. When I think of the lessons I missed for various lame reasons, I could kick myself.

Leave a Reply

