Chivalry isn’t dead after all

Now, before you judge me, let me just say I love various styles of music: Punk Rock, Classic Rock, 90s Rock and R&B, Country, Blues, Motown, Jazz… and so forth.  And well, recently I’ve been working on a Taylor Swift cover–OK, now you can judge me.  But hear me out!

Don’t get the wrong idea, I’m not getting into Taylor Swift politics.  It’s just, my guitar teacher, Danny, is really hung up on me covering her song titled, Begin Again.  “Let’s play this Taylor Swift song, if you don’t mind,” Danny suggested. “I think you’d relate to it and the vocals are in your key.”

My lessons hardly ever consist of song collaborations, not to mention cover songs.  But Begin Again came up in a side conversation about my dating life which is fairly similar to Swift’s lyrics– I’ve gone on a few dates with a new guy and was enchanted by his chivalry, which I thought was long gone in my generation (thankfully it’s not).

I practiced the song a few times this past week and Danny was right… With the capo on the 3rd fret, the key suits my voice extremely well.  We worked on it again today and he showed me how to “walk down” the bass during the chorus.  I can only assume he wants me to nail it when I see him next week because we’re returning to fingerpicking Simon and Garfunkel’s The Boxer.  

Can we say, polar opposite?

One thought on “Chivalry isn’t dead after all

Leave a Reply

